Wiltshire Cricket

Wiltshire Wallop Finals Day 2013 - report

Burbage & Eastern Royal CC lifted the inaugural Wiltshire Wallop 20/20 Trophy, after successfully beating Potterne in the final.

The competition created and run by Ben White and Russell Lodge, saw 8 teams battle it out to win a place at the Finals Day, hosted by Marshfield CC. With boundary hit boards, a hay bale stand and music accompanying boundaries, the first semi final saw Biddestone rack up a huge 214 for 5 - Neil Briedenkamp making 95 off 48 balls and Liam Boulton smashing 60 off just 28 balls. Surely this was too much for Burbage? Nope - unbelievably they won it with 8 balls to spare! Suresh Mukherjee with 42, David Cope with 60 and Dan Swatton swatting 82 of just 40 balls.

The second semi final certainly didn't live up to the first, as Marshfield could never recover from 16 for 4, and made just 69. Potterne easily reached the target in the 7th over.

So to the final - Potterne batted first, but were in early trouble with a number of batsman getting out to the big shot, and none of them could get going. Adam Lavis was the pick of the bowlers returning the man of the match figures of 3 for 15 from 4 overs. In reply Burbage made the ideal start, not losing their first wicket until 70 runs (D Cope 34) and it was left to Suresh Mukherjee and Michael Papps to see them home and claim the trophy! Burbage will be looking to enter again next year to try and retain their trophy.