Wiltshire Cricket

Wiltshire's premier T20 competition gets ready for launch!

The Wiltshire Wallop returns for 2018 with a record 16 teams competing in the competition this season! The Wiltshire Wallop was born in 2013 with an aim of providing a fun but competitive T20 competition that covers the whole county, thus providing an opportunity for a club to be crowned the top T20 team in the county. Unlike Saturday cricket in which clubs play in different league structures depending on the part of the county they are based, the Wiltshire Wallop truly is a county wide competition.

Since 2013, the competition has grown and in 2018 we will see many of the features that were introduced in 2017 continue to operate:

  • Play-Cricket – We will use play-cricket for the 2nd year in 2018, after running the competition through it for the first time in 2017
  • Pink balls and coloured clothing – This was not mandatory last year and nor will it be this year. However, the feedback from clubs that used it was positive and so we encourage clubs to try ideas such as coloured clothing and pink balls so as to make the competition as appealing and eye catching as possible
  • Plate finals day – This was a great way of involving all teams in the group stages and giving them something to play for if they lost early matches. This will continue in 2018
  • Competition and Discipline rules for finals day – As we always stress, the aim of the competition is to be as unbureaucratic as possible, and as such we will continue to encourage games to be played in that spirit, particularly in the group stages where there will not be centrally appointed umpires. However, based on feedback we will be introducing slightly more formalised competition rules and frameworks for the finals day stage at which point appointed umpires will be in place.

2018's teams!

Here are the groups:

Group A - Biddestone, Chippenham, Corsham, Marshfield

Group B - Avebury Dynamos, Calne, Goatacre, Royal Wootton Bassett

Group C - Potterne, Trowbridge, Warminster, Westbury and District

Group D - Amport, Burbage and ER, Marlborough, Shrewton

You can follow all results via www.wiltsclubcomps.play-cricket.com


Winners and runners up from all groups will go in to the cup quarter finals to qualify for cup finals on Sunday 12th August

Third and fourth placed trams will go in to plate quarter finals then finals day

Good luck to all this year's participants!