Wiltshire Cricket

Wiltshire County Cricket Club

Wiltshire CCC finish season with defeat

Wiltshire finished their season in the Western Division of the Unicorns County Championship with their fourth consecutive defeat when they lost to Shropshire at Bridgenorth on Sunday/Monday/Tuesday by 6 wickets.  This means they finished 9th in the Division with only Wales below them.

Wiltshire won the toss and made full use of the excellent batting conditions to score 418 for 7 wickets in their 90 overs.  Steve Bullen scored 75, Will Wade 41, Ed Young 40, Jake Goodwin 37 and the innings finished with a stand of 167 in just 16 overs between Neil Clark (124) and Mikey Reynolds (67 not out).  David Wainwright took 3 for 93 for Shropshire.  By close of the first day Shropshire had reached 77 for 2 wickets.

The second day shortened by an hour through rain saw Shropshire all out in their 90th over for 389.  Steve Leach scored 86, Ross Aucott 57 and Jack McIver 62.  Tahir Afridi took 6 for 93 and Mikey Reynolds  2 for 44.  By close of play Wiltshire were 20 for 1 wicket.  On the third day Wiltshire struggled to set a competitive target against the spin of David Wainwright who took 6 for 73 and Stuart Whitney 4 for 85 and were all out for 208 leaving Shropshire to score 238 to win.  Steve Bullen scored 60 and Mikey Reynolds 43.  Shropshire reached their target scoring 240 for 4 wickets with 8 overs to spare to win by 6 wickets.  Will Parton was 73 not out and Tahir Afridi took 2 for 50.  This included his 200th Championship wicket for Wiltshire.

Points Shropshire 24  Wiltshire 8