Wiltshire Cricket

Potterne CC crowned 2015 Wiltshire Wallop winners!

Blessed with some glorious late Summer weather, the Wiltshire Wallop T20 Finals Day saw Potterne retain their trophy with a closely fought win over Swindon in the final.

Earlier in the day in the first semi-final, hosts Marshfield were beaten by Swindon by just two runs as they couldn’t quite chase down 162. Steve Laggett top scored for Swindon with 53 off just 33 balls with Will Pascall the pick of the Marshfield bowlers claiming 2 for 24. In reply the chase began slowly but Marshfield, thanks to some good hitting from Jeremy Bond (43) and Rupert Crockett (30), were well placed with 5 overs to go needing 37 with 4 wickets in hand. However, some tight bowling especially from Josh Weaver (3 for 20) and Dean Williamson (3 for 22) saw Swindon to victory by 2 runs.

The second semi-final was a more one sided affair as Potterne defeated Burbage & Easton Royal by 56 runs. Neil Clark top scored for Potterne as the winners from 2013, Burbage, were knocked out of the competition.

Potterne elected to bat first in the final against Swindon (making their first Finals Day appearance). Some tight bowling and excellent ground fielding saw Swindon restrict Potterne to a below par 138 – or was it? Tom Cullen was the mainstay of the innings making 45 off 41 balls with tight bowling all round especially from Jake Goodwin (2 for 10) and Neil Harris (2 for 23). In reply Swindon were always up with the rate but Potterne took wickets at regular intervals. When Jake Goodwin was smartly stumped down the leg side by Tom Cullen off Neil Clark for 37 the game swung Potterne’s way. 7 was needed off the final over, but Ru Woodward (2 for 5) took the final wicket to see Potterne home by 6 runs! Milan Perera (2 for 15) and Dylan Higgins (2 for 18) claiming wickets. Potterne after winning WEPL Prem 2 Division have now added the Wallop Trophy to their cabinet for 2015.

The competition, in its third year, saw 16 teams originally enter all across the county giving the opportunity for mid week cricket at some new grounds as well as some healthy competition! There were some stand out performances during the group matches, such as Goatacre scoring a mammoth 269 against Purton and James Williams (Marshfield) scoring an unbeaten 100 off just 47 balls against Biddestone! The leading wicket taker in the competition was Will Pascall (Marshfield) with 11 and the leading six hitter throughout was James Williams (Marshfield) with 19! We hope the competition grows again in 2016 with Wiltshire club’s wishing to be a part of the exciting Wiltshire Wallop!

For a full summary of this year's Wallop competition including the sixes and wickets league visit our Wallop page